Minimum Qualifications for Firefighter/Paramedic

Requirements

  • Certified as Paramedic or Licensed Paramedic by the Department of State Health Services by hire date.
  • High school diploma or equivalent.
  • Minimum age 18.
  • Must be a U.S. citizen as evidenced by birth certificate, passport or legal immigration documentation.
  • Must have an acceptable criminal history according to the standards set by TCFP and TDSHS.
  • Must not be prohibited from operating a motor vehicle, and must possess a valid Texas driver's license.
  • Must pass a physical, drug screening as well as a psychological test.
1 firefighter and fire truck in background

Automatic Disqualifications

  • Presently under indictment for charges for any criminal offense other than a class C traffic violation
  • Any driver's license suspension within the last 5 years
  • A conviction for DWI or DUI within the last 5 years
  • Current use of any illegal drug or current misuse or abuse of legal drugs or medications
  • Unlawful use as an adult of a controlled substance or "dangerous drug" as defined by the Texas Health and Safety Code within the past 10 years or evidence beyond experimentation
  • Engaged in the manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance, or dangerous drug as defined by the Texas Health and Safety Code
  • Presently on court ordered community supervision or probation or parole
  • Convictions of any misdemeanor offense above a class C within the last 5 years
  • Convicted of any misdemeanor offense above a class C which is determined to be a crime of moral turpitude
  • Conviction of a felony offense
  • Dishonorable discharge from military service