News Flash


Posted on: February 20, 2021

Disaster declaration opens FEMA assistance process for residents

FEMA newsflash

With the Presidential disaster declaration issued for 77 counties in Texas, residents and businesses that sustained losses can now begin the process to apply for individual assistance. Assistance may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

There is a four-step process to begin application for assistance and registration is available online: 

  1. Take a photo of your damaged home and belongings
  2. Make a list of damaged or lost items
  3. If you have insurance, you must file a claim with your insurance company. If you do not have insurance, skip to step 4.
  4. Apply for assistance at or call 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-4627585. You can also download the FEMA app.

Additional information is available at 

FEMA disaster assistance graphic

Governor Greg Abbott requested the Major Disaster Declaration from the White House for individual assistance in all 254 counties. The initial declaration is a partial declaration that provides individual assistance to 77 counties and public assistance (emergency protective measures only) for all counties. Mansfield is approved for individual assistance since its three counties - Tarrant, Johnson and Ellis - are included in the declaration.

"I thank President Biden for his assistance as we respond to impacts of winter weather across our state," Governor Abbott said. "While this partial approval is an important first step, Texas will continue to work with our federal partners to ensure all eligible Texans have access to the relief they need. The funds provided under the Major Disaster Declaration may provide crucial assistance to Texans as they begin to repair their homes and address property damage.”

Facebook Twitter Email